Skip to main content
Points Beginner

Hotel Loyalty Program Statistics 2026: 933 Million Members, $14.2 Billion in Points Liabilities, and Member Share of Room Nights by Program

Hotel loyalty program statistics from FY2025 10-Ks and Q2 2026 filings: Marriott Bonvoy 295M members, Hilton Honors 260M, IHG 160M, Wyndham 122M, Choice 74M, Hyatt 63M, with points liabilities and room-night share.

By , Founder of Thermal Finance | | 15 min read
On this page

Disclaimer: This page compiles figures from SEC filings (Form 10-K, 10-Q, 20-F, and earnings releases furnished on Form 8-K) for educational purposes. Each number is quoted as the company labels it, with the period stated. Companies define members, room-night share, and loyalty liabilities differently, so read the labels before comparing two programs. Nothing here is a valuation of your points or a recommendation to join a program.

Hotel loyalty numbers usually reach you third-hand, from a press release summary or a blog that quotes another blog. The companies themselves publish the figures once a year in their annual reports and update some of them each quarter. This page pulls the loyalty statistics for six major hotel groups that file with the SEC (Marriott, Hilton, IHG, Wyndham, Choice, and Hyatt) straight from those filings: member counts, the share of room nights members book, the balance-sheet liability for unredeemed points, and what the co-branded credit cards contribute. Every figure carries its filing and period so you can cite the original.

Key Facts: Hotel loyalty program statistics in 2026

  • Marriott Bonvoy passed 295 million members at June 30, 2026, after adding about 43 million in 2025 (Marriott earnings releases)
  • Hilton Honors reached 260 million members at June 30, 2026, up 15% year over year (Hilton Q2 2026 10-Q)
  • IHG One Rewards has over 160 million members after a 25% rise in enrollments in 2025 (IHG 2025 Form 20-F)
  • Wyndham Rewards has over 122 million enrolled members, up 7% in 2025 and 24% since the end of 2022 (Wyndham FY2025 10-K)
  • Choice Privileges has more than 74 million members; World of Hyatt approximately 63 million (FY2025 10-Ks)
  • Summed across the six programs, reported memberships total about 933 million at year-end 2025 (derived)
  • Bonvoy members booked 75% of Marriott’s U.S. and Canada room nights and 68% globally in 2025 (Marriott Q4 2025 earnings release; the 10-K states the 75% figure for U.S. room nights)
  • IHG One Rewards members account for 66% of IHG room nights globally; World of Hyatt members 49% of Hyatt’s (FY2025 filings)
  • Marriott’s liability for guest loyalty program is $8,444 million at June 30, 2026, the largest of the six programs (Marriott Q2 2026 10-Q)
  • The four largest programs carry $14,236 million in combined loyalty liabilities at year-end 2025 (derived from FY2025 filings)
  • Marriott recognized $3,160 million of previously deferred loyalty revenue in 2025 as members redeemed (Marriott FY2025 10-K)
  • Co-brand card fees lifted Marriott’s franchise fees by $105 million in 2025 and $132 million in the first half of 2026 (Marriott filings)

Hotel Loyalty Statistics at a Glance

StatisticFigurePeriodSource
Marriott Bonvoy membersMore than 295 millionJune 30, 2026Marriott Q2 2026 earnings release
Hilton Honors members260 millionJune 30, 2026Hilton Q2 2026 10-Q
IHG One Rewards membersOver 160 millionDec 31, 2025IHG 2025 Form 20-F
Wyndham Rewards membersOver 122 millionDec 31, 2025Wyndham FY2025 10-K
Choice Privileges membersMore than 74 millionDec 31, 2025Choice FY2025 10-K
World of Hyatt membersApproximately 63 millionDec 31, 2025Hyatt FY2025 10-K
Six-program membership total~933 millionYear-end 2025Derived
Marriott member share of room nights68% global, 75% U.S. and Canada2025Marriott Q4 2025 earnings release
IHG member share of room nights66% global2025IHG 2025 Form 20-F
Hyatt member share of room nights49% (excluding all-inclusive)2025Hyatt FY2025 10-K
Wyndham member share of check-insOver 37% global, over 53% U.S.2025Wyndham FY2025 10-K
Marriott liability for guest loyalty program$8,444 millionJune 30, 2026Marriott Q2 2026 10-Q
Hilton liability for guest loyalty program$3,077 millionJune 30, 2026Hilton Q2 2026 10-Q
Hyatt deferred revenue related to the loyalty program$1,798 millionJune 30, 2026Hyatt Q2 2026 10-Q
IHG One Rewards deferred revenue$1,727 millionDec 31, 2025IHG 2025 Form 20-F
Choice liability for guest loyalty program$127.0 millionJune 30, 2026Choice Q2 2026 10-Q
Marriott loyalty revenue recognized on redemption$3,160 million2025Marriott FY2025 10-K

How Many Members Does Each Hotel Loyalty Program Have?

Marriott Bonvoy is the largest at more than 295 million members, and the gap to second place is narrower than it was a year ago. Reported counts from the most recent filing for each program:

ProgramMembersAs ofGrowth disclosedFiling
Marriott BonvoyMore than 295 millionJune 30, 2026About 43 million added in 2025; nearly 271 million at year-end 2025Q2 2026 and Q4 2025 earnings releases
Hilton Honors260 millionJune 30, 2026Up 15% from June 30, 2025; 243 million at year-end 2025, up 15%Q2 2026 10-Q, FY2025 10-K
IHG One RewardsOver 160 millionDec 31, 2025Enrollments up 25% in 20252025 Form 20-F
Wyndham RewardsOver 122 million enrolledDec 31, 2025Up 7% in 2025, 24% since end of 2022FY2025 10-K
Choice PrivilegesMore than 74 millionDec 31, 2025Not statedFY2025 10-K
World of HyattApproximately 63 millionDec 31, 2025Not statedFY2025 10-K

Hotel loyalty program members, most recent filing

Millions of members, as reported by each company

0 100M 200M 300M Marriott Bonvoy 295M+ Hilton Honors 260M IHG One Rewards 160M+ Wyndham Rewards 122M+ Choice Privileges 74M+ World of Hyatt ~63M
Marriott and Hilton figures are June 30, 2026; the other four are December 31, 2025. Counts are enrolled memberships as each company defines them. Sources: company 10-K, 10-Q, 20-F, and 8-K earnings release filings.

Summing the year-end 2025 counts (nearly 271 million for Marriott, 243 million for Hilton, over 160 million for IHG, over 122 million for Wyndham, more than 74 million for Choice, approximately 63 million for Hyatt) gives about 933 million memberships across the six programs. Treat that as an upper bound on people: a frequent traveler typically holds three or four of these, and every program counts enrolled rather than active members.

Marriott’s pace stands out. Its year-end 2025 count of nearly 271 million implies roughly 228 million at the end of 2024 (271 minus the 43 million added), and the program then gained more than 24 million in the first half of 2026 alone. Hilton compounded at 15% in both 2025 and the twelve months to June 2026.

What Share of Room Nights Do Loyalty Members Book?

Between roughly half and three-quarters at the full-service chains, and over a third at the economy-focused ones. Four of the six programs disclose the figure in their filings:

ProgramMember shareMeasurePeriod
Marriott Bonvoy75% U.S. and Canada, 68% globalHotel room nights booked by members2025
IHG One Rewards66% globalRoom nights consumed2025
World of Hyatt49% (47% in 2024 on the same basis)System-wide room nights, excluding all-inclusive properties2025
Wyndham RewardsOver 53% U.S., over 37% globalCheck-ins at Wyndham hotels2025
Hilton HonorsNot disclosed in SEC filings
Choice PrivilegesNot disclosed in SEC filings

Share of room nights or check-ins from loyalty members, 2025

Global figure as disclosed by each company

0% 25% 50% 75% 100% Marriott Bonvoy (global) 68% IHG One Rewards (global) 66% World of Hyatt 49% Wyndham Rewards (global) 37%+
Marriott and IHG count room nights booked or consumed by members; Hyatt counts system-wide room nights excluding all-inclusive resorts and changed its method in 2025; Wyndham counts check-ins. Hilton and Choice do not disclose the measure in filings. Sources: FY2025 10-Ks and IHG 2025 Form 20-F.

Hyatt’s 49% comes with a caveat the company spells out: starting in 2025 it counts every stay where a member earns points (or takes airline miles instead) plus every award-night stay. On that basis 2024 would have been 47%, so the underlying change is two points, not the larger jump a comparison to the old method would suggest. IHG adds a related channel statistic: 83% of its 2025 room revenue was booked through IHG-managed channels and sources.

How Much Do Hotel Companies Owe for Unredeemed Points?

$14.2 billion across the four largest programs at year-end 2025, and rising. Each company records the estimated cost of honoring outstanding points as a liability (Marriott, Hilton, and Choice call it “liability for guest loyalty program”; Hyatt and IHG carry it inside deferred revenue). All of them discount for breakage, the points they expect will never be redeemed, using actuarial models.

CompanyLine itemDec 31, 2024Dec 31, 2025June 30, 2026
MarriottLiability for guest loyalty program (current plus noncurrent)$7,519M$7,992M$8,444M
HiltonLiability for guest loyalty program (current plus noncurrent)$2,974M$2,913M$3,077M
IHGDeferred revenue, IHG One Rewards loyalty programme$1,653M$1,727MNot yet filed
HyattDeferred revenue related to the loyalty program$1,333M$1,604M$1,798M
ChoiceLiability for guest loyalty program (current plus noncurrent)$129.6M$124.8M$127.0M
WyndhamDeferred loyalty program revenues$97M$91M$108M

Wyndham’s row is deferred revenue only and is not comparable to the others; the company also records a separate liability for future redemption costs that it does not tabulate as a single figure. Hyatt’s year-end 2025 total includes $1,533 million for future point redemptions and $71 million for free night awards that moved into the loyalty program when its co-brand card agreement was integrated in the fourth quarter of 2025.

Loyalty program liabilities, December 31, 2025

Millions of dollars, as labeled in each company's filing

$0 $2B $4B $6B $8B Marriott $7,992M Hilton $2,913M IHG $1,727M Hyatt $1,604M Choice $125M
Marriott's liability is larger than the other four shown combined. Wyndham is omitted because its tabulated figure covers deferred revenue only. Sources: FY2025 Form 10-K filings and IHG's 2025 Form 20-F.

The sensitivity disclosures show how much judgment sits in these numbers. Marriott says a one percent decrease in its estimate of point breakage could add about $50 million to the liability. Hyatt says a 10% decrease in its breakage assumption would add approximately $90 million. Marriott also disclosed that updated estimates in 2025 produced a net decrease in revenue and a matching increase in the liability of about $102 million.

Redemptions move real money through these accounts. Marriott recognized $3,160 million of revenue in 2025 that had been deferred at the end of 2024, roughly 42% of that opening balance, and $1,802 million in the first half of 2026. Choice recognized $125.6 million from points redeemed in 2025, net of redemption cost, about equal to its entire year-end liability.

What Is the Loyalty Liability per Member?

Marriott carries the most per member at about $29.50, and Choice the least at about $1.70. Dividing each year-end 2025 liability by the reported member count:

ProgramLiabilityMembersLiability per member
Marriott Bonvoy$7,992MNearly 271M~$29.50
World of Hyatt$1,604M~63M~$25.50
Hilton Honors$2,913M243M~$12.00
IHG One Rewards$1,727MOver 160M~$10.80
Choice Privileges$124.8MMore than 74M~$1.70

This is our arithmetic on two disclosed figures, and it measures the company’s estimated cost to honor points after breakage, spread across every enrolled member including the inactive ones. It is not the cash value of a typical balance. It does say something about program economics: Hyatt and Marriott members, on average, hold more redeemable value relative to the program’s size than members of the economy-weighted programs. For what those points buy, see our hotel points value guide.

How Many Hotels and Rooms Does Each Program Cover?

Marriott has the most rooms, and Hilton has the most members per room. System size at year-end 2025, as reported in each annual filing:

CompanyPropertiesRoomsMembers per room
Marriott9,8051,779,936~152
Hilton9,1581,351,351~180
IHG6,9631,026,177~156
Wyndham8,389868,900~140
Choice7,575656,825~113
Hyatt1,528372,763~169

Members per room is our division of the two figures. By June 30, 2026, Hilton had grown to 9,453 properties and 1,384,842 rooms. Marriott grew from 9,361 properties and 1,706,331 rooms at year-end 2024 to the 9,805 and 1,779,936 shown above, and IHG crossed one million open rooms during 2025.

How Much Do Co-Branded Credit Cards Contribute?

Enough that Marriott and Hilton each called out nine-figure fee increases from cards in their 2025 results and IHG said its U.S. card fees roughly doubled, though only Wyndham and Choice report a total that isolates card and partner income.

  • Marriott has co-branded cards in 11 countries and multi-year U.S. agreements with JPMorgan Chase and American Express, renewed in 2026. Higher co-branded credit card and other brand-related fees added $105 million to franchise fees in 2025; co-brand fees alone added $73 million in Q2 2026 and $132 million in the first half. Marriott states that payments under these agreements “represent a significant funding source for the Loyalty Program.”
  • Hilton counts American Express among its strategic partners. Licensing fees rose $104 million in 2025, predominantly from co-branded credit card activity and Hilton Grand Vacations, within total franchise and licensing fees of $2,780 million (up 6.9% from $2,600 million).
  • Hyatt earns fixed and spend-based variable amounts under its multi-year agreement with Chase, and folded the card programs into the loyalty program in the fourth quarter of 2025.
  • IHG says it approximately doubled the U.S. co-brand fees recognized in operating profit in 2025 after new agreements with its U.S. partners, with U.S. card members up by a high single-digit percentage and a comparable rise in card spend. It expanded its Chase partnership with IHG One Rewards status for Chase Sapphire Reserve cardholders and signed a UK debit card deal with Revolut.
  • Wyndham reports ancillary revenues (license and other fees plus other revenues) of $317 million in 2025, up from $276 million in 2024 and $199 million in 2021, with $41 million of the 2025 increase attributed to growth in the co-brand program. Deferred co-branded credit card program revenues jumped from $22 million to $98 million during 2025.
  • Choice reports partnership services and fees of $113.8 million in 2025, up $14.3 million from $99.5 million, primarily from its co-branded credit card agreement and qualified vendors.
CompanyCard-related disclosure2025 figureSource
MarriottIncrease in franchise fees from co-brand and brand-related fees+$105M (+$132M in H1 2026)FY2025 10-K, Q2 2026 10-Q
HiltonIncrease in licensing fees, mainly co-brand and HGV+$104MFY2025 10-K
WyndhamAncillary revenues (includes card fees)$317MFY2025 10-K
WyndhamIncrease in ancillary revenues from co-brand program+$41MFY2025 10-K
ChoicePartnership services and fees$113.8MFY2025 10-K
IHGChange in U.S. co-brand fees in operating profitApproximately doubled2025 Form 20-F

How to Cite These Statistics

Every number on this page traces to a public SEC filing listed below, and we would rather you cite the filing than us. If you cite this page, a format that works:

High Earner Playbook, “Hotel Loyalty Program Statistics 2026,” highearnerplaybook.com, accessed [date]. Compiled from Marriott, Hilton, Hyatt, IHG, Wyndham, and Choice Hotels SEC filings for fiscal 2025 and the second quarter of 2026.

Derived figures (the six-program membership total, liability per member, members per room, and growth percentages) are our arithmetic on the disclosed inputs shown in the tables above.

Where These Numbers Come From

  • Form 10-K annual reports for fiscal 2025, filed February 2026 by Marriott International, Hilton Worldwide, Hyatt Hotels, Wyndham Hotels & Resorts, and Choice Hotels International. Source for year-end member counts, room-night shares, system size, balance-sheet loyalty liabilities, co-brand fee changes, and breakage sensitivities.
  • IHG’s 2025 Annual Report, filed with the SEC on Form 20-F (February 26, 2026). IHG is UK-listed, so its figures follow IFRS and are labeled “deferred revenue” rather than a loyalty liability line.
  • Form 10-Q reports for the quarter ended June 30, 2026, filed July and August 2026. Source for the June 2026 liabilities, Hilton’s 260 million members, and Marriott’s first-half co-brand fees.
  • Earnings releases furnished on Form 8-K (Marriott, February 10 and August 3, 2026). Marriott discloses its member count in these releases rather than in the 10-K.

Update policy: member counts and liabilities refresh with each quarterly filing; room-night shares and system size refresh with the annual reports each February. Each revision gets a dated note under the disclaimer.

Sources